Browser Cookies
This site uses cookies necessary to properly function. By closing this popup, clicking a link or continuing to browse otherwise, you agree to the use of cookies. View our policies.


StarSkate: Star 1-5, Senior Bronze to Gold


How STARSkate works

The STARSkate program consists of figure skating skills in four areas – Skating Skills, Ice Dance, Free Skate and Interpretive. Each area is divided into the following levels:

Primary Level Tests – Star 1-5

  • Skating Skills: Star 1-5
  • Free Skating: Star 1-5
  • Dance: Star 1-5
  • Interpretive: Introductory

Intermediate Level Tests – Star 6-9

  • Skating Skills: Senior Bronze, Junior Silver
  • Free Skating: Senior Bronze, Junior Silver
  • Dance: Senior Bronze, Junior Silver
  • Interpretive: Bronze

Senior Level Tests – Star 10-Gold

  • Skating Skills: Senior Silver, Gold
  • Free Skating: Senior Silver, Gold
  • Dance: Senior Silver, Gold, Diamond
  • Interpretive: Silver, Gold


This chart will assist in determining which Star level a skater is at:

Star 1: Skaters who have passed their CanSkate Stage 6 badge and are working on their Star 1 Tests.

Star 2: Skaters who have passed one skating test, or their Star 1 FreeSkate test or both their Star 1 Skills & Dance tests.

Star 3: Skaters who have passed at least one Preliminary test, or their Star 2 FreeSkate test, or both Star 2 Skills & Dance.

Star 4: Skaters who have passed all of their Preliminary FreeSkate test, or their Star 3 tests or both their Star 3 Skills and Dance tests.

Star 5: Skaters who have passed all their Junior Bronze FreeSkate test or their Star 4 FreeSkate test or both their Star 4 Skills & Dance tests or higher.

Star 6 and above: Skaters that are passed Star 5.